Android: Could not access the Package Manager. Is the system running?

I work on several little Android apps which I update sometimes. One or two years ago I was using Eclipse for that, and it worked and works well, but several months ago I changed to Android Studio. This new tool is based on IntelliJ and it’s very comfortable, but it’s in an early stage and sometimes does strange things.

After last update to 0.3.2 version I experimented an error I never had before, or at least I don’t recall to have it. Trying to running the app in the phone emulator I got this error when Android Studio was installing the app through the package manager:

DEVICE SHELL COMMAND: pm install -r "/data/local/tmp/com.elpaso.android.gpro.ps"
Could not access the Package Manager. Is the system running?

Obviously the system was running, and all of this was working before the update, as usual, so I was a bit concerned because when this kind of strange things happen, it means you’re going to waste time searching for a solution. Well, finally I found the solution, it was easier than I thought… simply unlock the emulator sliding the lock icon. After unlocking it I ran the process again and the app was installed right.

P.S.: Always use a real phone if you can when working with Android apps, it’s lot of times faster.

5 thoughts on “Android: Could not access the Package Manager. Is the system running?

  1. Javi November 28, 2013 / 5:56 pm

    Hi,
    How I unlock the emulator sliding the lock icon? The emulator always has been loading

    • Eduardo Yáñez Parareda November 28, 2013 / 5:59 pm

      First time the emulator takes a lot of time to start… it depends on your machine, but finally it should start.
      If it doesn’t, there must be another problem with it.

  2. Abhiram Mishra July 4, 2014 / 10:30 am

    What if you are running the emulator in –no-window mode ?

Leave a Reply

